The board's responsibilities include setting employer contribution rates, determining investment asset allocations, providing actuarial valuations, and much more. However, the board does not have the authority to add, change, or delete benefits without the concurrence of the Legislature.

Theresa Taylor headshot

Theresa Taylor

President, State Member Representative

David Miller headshot

David Miller

Vice President, All Member Representative

Malia M. Cohen headshot

Malia M. Cohen

Ex Officio Member, California State Controller

Fiona Ma headshot

Fiona Ma

Ex Officio Member, California State Treasurer

Lisa Middleton headshot

Lisa Middleton

Governor Appointee, Local Government Elected Official

Eraina Ortega headshot

Eraina Ortega

Ex Officio Member, California Department of Human Resources

Jose Luis Pacheco headshot

Jose Luis Pacheco

All Member Representative

Kevin Palkki headshot

Kevin Palkki

School Member Representative

Ramon Rubalcava headshot

Ramón Rubalcava

Public Representative, Appointed Jointly by the Senate Rules Committee and Speaker of the Assembly

Yvonne Walker headshot

Yvonne Walker

Retired Member Representative

Mullissa Willette headshot

Mullissa Willette

Public Agency Member Representative

Dr. Gail Willis headshot

Dr. Gail Willis

Ex Officio Member, State Personnel Board Representative

No Image Available


Governor Appointee, Insurance Industry Representative

The Board is made up of:

Six Elected Members
  • Two elected by and from all CalPERS members
  • One elected by and from all active state members
  • One elected by and from all active CalPERS school members
  • One elected by and from all active CalPERS public agency members (employed by contracting public agencies)
  • One elected by and from retired members of CalPERS
Three Appointed Members
  • Two appointed by the Governor - an elected official of a local government and an official of a life insurer
  • One public representative appointed jointly by the Speaker of the Assembly and the Senate Rules Committee
Four Ex Officio Members
  • The State Treasurer
  • The State Controller
  • The Director of the California Department of Human Resources
  • A Representative of the State Personnel Board

Board Member Designees

Eraina Ortega
  • Thomas Gjerde
  • Nicole Griffith
Fiona Ma
  • Patrick Henning
  • Frank Ruffino
Malia M. Cohen
  • Regina Evans
  • Deborah Gallegos