The CalPERS Board of Administration consists of 13 members who are elected, appointed, or hold office ex officio for four-year terms. Their decisions affect all active and retired members.

2018 State, School, and Public Agency Elections

An election is being held to fill the public agency representative seat on the CalPERS Board of Administration. The term of the incumbent, Priya Mathur will expire on January 15, 2019. The new term of office will begin on January 16, 2019, and run through January 15, 2023.

The election for the state and school board member representative seats will not be conducted because the incumbents, Theresa Taylor (state) and Rob Feckner (school) were unopposed. Taylor and Feckner will serve another four-year term of office beginning January 16, 2019, and continuing through January 15, 2023.

Notice of Election

A Notice of Election dated March 26, 2018, provides information on becoming a candidate, voter eligibility, and the election schedule.

Below are the candidates as of May 17, 2018:

Public Agency Member

Jason Perez
1031 West Sixth St.
Corona, CA 92882
(951) 371-8089
Priya Mathur
(510) 858-4435

NOTE: This is the list of candidates running in the election as they will appear on the ballot.

Download Printable Version (PDF).

Candidate Forum September 5

The League of Women Voters of Sacramento County will sponsor a “CalPERS Candidate Forum”, on Tuesday, September 5, 2018, from 6:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. in the CalPERS Auditorium, Lincoln Plaza North, 400 P Street, Sacramento, California. To learn more about the candidates, you may attend the forum in person or view a live webcast.

Voting Period

A ballot package will be mailed to active CalPERS public agency members on August 31, 2018, with the voting period taking place from August 31 through October 1. Your ballot must be received by mail, telephone, or online by 11:59 p.m. (PT) on October 1, or it will not be counted.

The ballot package will include your official ballot, a return envelope if you choose to vote by mail, your unique PIN if you choose to vote online or by phone, and a candidate statement booklet.

Voter Eligibility

To be eligible to vote, you must be a member of CalPERS, employed by a public agency, and active as of July 1, 2018.

Election Process

Last year, the board election process included additional voting methods for the first time. The three voting methods and processes now used — paper ballot, online, and phone — are legal and adhere to all applicable state laws and regulations. Read some key facts (PDF).

Contact Us

If you have questions about the board election process or need further assistance, email the CalPERS Board Election Office or call (800) 794-2297.

Upcoming Elections

Year Election
2019 Retired Member