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About This Publication

The Health Program Guide describes CalPERS Basic health
plan eligibility, enrollment, and choices. It provides an
overview of CalPERS health plan types and tells you how and
when you can make changes to your plan (including what
forms and documentation you will need). It also describes
how life changes or changes in your employment status can
affect your benefits and eligibility.

This publication is one resource CalPERS offers to help
you choose and use your health plan. Others include:

* Health Benefit Summary: Provides valuable
information to help you make an informed choice
about your health plan; compares benefits, covered
services, and copayment information for all CalPERS
health plans

* Medicare Enrollment Guide: Provides information
on how Medicare works with your CalPERS health
benefits

If there are any inconsistencies between the Health
Program Guide and the provisions of the Public Employees’
Medical Hospital Care Act (PEMHCA), the provisions of
PEMHCA will apply.

You can obtain the above publications, required forms,
and other information about your CalPERS health benefits
through the CalPERS website at www.calpers.ca.gov or
by calling CalPERS at 888 CalPERS (or 888-225-7377).

Where to Get Help With
Your Health Benefits Enrollment

If you are an active employee, contact your health
benefits officer to make all health benefit enrollment
changes. Your health benefits officer is usually located
in your personnel office or human resources department.
With your health benefits officer's approval, you may
also make changes online through myCalPERS at
my.calpers.ca.gov.

Once you retire, CalPERS becomes your health benefits
officer. As a retiree, you may make changes to your health
plan in any of the following ways:

* Online through myCalPERS at my.calpers.ca.gov
* By calling us toll free at 888 CalPERS

(or 888-225-7377)
* By faxing or writing to us at:

CalPERS

Health Account Management Division

P.O. Box 942715

Sacramento, CA 94229-2715

Fax: (800) 959-6545

The chart on pages 17-18 indicates the forms and
supporting documentation needed for most changes.


https://www.calpers.ca.gov
https://my.calpers.ca.gov
https://my.calpers.ca.gov
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Eligibility Requirements

Who Is Eligible

Employees and annuitants of the State of California coverage, you must be credited with at least 480 paid hours
(state), California State University (CSU), and contracting at the end of each control period or at least 960 hours in two
agencies are eligible to enroll in the CalPERS Health consecutive periods. Checkpoints to determine whether the
Program. In most cases, your enrollment status does not hours have been met are June 30 and December 31.

affect your eligibility and you don't need to be enrolled in

the past, present, or future to maintain eligibility. Retirees
For example: You are eligible to enroll in a CalPERS health plan if you
* |f you are eligible for health at the time of retirement meet all of the following criteria:
but decline enrollment, you are eligible to enroll at a * Your retirement date is within 120 days of separation
later time with a qualifying life event or during the from employment
Open Enrollment period. * You were eligible for health benefits upon separation
* |f you are eligible for health as a dependent but decline * You receive a monthly retirement allowance
enrollment upon a member's death, then you remain * You retire from the state, California State University
eligible for health coverage and can enroll later. (CSU), or an agency that currently contracts with
Annuitants are eligible retirees or survivors. Although both CalPERS for health benefits for your specific
are annuitants, their eligibility requirements are different. employee group

Annuitant and survivor are defined in Government Code

22760 and referenced on page 41in Definition of Terms. Family Members

The following individuals can enroll in CalPERS health The terms “family member” and “dependent” are used
benefits if they meet eligibility requirements. interchangeably. Eligible family members include:

* Spouse

Employees * Registered domestic partner

Eligibility is based on tenure and time base of your * Children (natural, adopted, domestic partner's, or
qualifying appointment. You must work at least half-time step) up to age 26
and have a permanent appointment or a “limited term” = Children, up to age 26, if the employee or annuitant
appointment with a duration of more than six months. has assumed a parent-child relationship and is

If you are a temporary or variable-hour employee, you considered the primary care parent — see page 14
may be eligible for health coverage due to provisions in for more details
PEMHCA that help large contracting agency employers meet * Certified disabled dependent children age 26 and
the Affordable Care Act (ACA) requirements. To check if you older — see page 13 for more details
meet the expanded eligibility criteria, contact your employer.
Survivor

State Permanent Intermittent (PI) Employees Survivors are eligible for health benefits if they:

If you are a Pl employee, you may enroll if you have * Qualify for a monthly survivor check,
credit for a minimum of 480 paid hours at the end of * Were eligible dependents at the time of the
a “control period.” A control period is six months from annuitant's death, and
January 1to June 30 or July 1to December 31. You cannot « Still qualify as eligible family members.

become eligible in the middle of a control period even if

the minimum hours are met. To continue to qualify for
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Who Is Not Eligible

Certain state or contracting agency employees and family
members are not eligible for CalPERS health benefits.

Ineligible Employees
* Those working less than half time* (except for
certain California State University and contracting
agency employees whose contracts provide health
benefits for less than half time work)
* Those whose appointment lasts less than six months*
* Those whose job classification is “Limited-Term

"

Intermittent”* (seasonal or temporary)

* Those classified as “Permanent Intermittent” who
do not meet the hour requirements within the
control period

* Those whose employer does not have a contract or

has terminated its contract with CalPERS

* The Affordable Care Act has provisions which expand eligibility
criteria for certain variable-hour employees. For additional
information, please contact your employer. CalPERS cannot advise
on the timekeeping and documentation requirements of variable-

hour employees under the Affordable Care Act.

Ineligible Family Members
The following family members are not eligible
for coverage:

* Former spouses/former registered domestic partners

* Children age 26 and older

* Disabled children over age 26 who were never
enrolled or who were deleted from coverage (see
“Disabled Children Not Eligible for Coverage” on page
14 for more information)

* Children of a former spouse/former registered
domestic partner (unless the former stepchild is
certified as a parent-child relationship dependent)

* Foster children

* Grandparents

* Parents

Do Not Enroll Ineligible Family Members
PEMHCA prohibits you from enrolling ineligible family
members. If you do so, CalPERS will retroactively cancel
the enrollment and you must pay all costs incurred by
the ineligible person from the date the coverage began.

Survivor Benefits — Ineligible Dependents

An eligible survivor can enroll dependents who were
eligible for benefits at the time of the annuitant’s death.
Newly acquired dependents that were not enrolled prior to

the annuitant’s death are not eligible to be enrolled.

Exception: newborn child born before the annuitant passed and

provides proof of relationship and birth certificate.

Examples of individuals not eligible for CalPERS survivor
health benefits:

* Subsequent spouse or domestic partner

* Subsequent stepchild, domestic partner child, or
newly adopted child

* Subsequent child born to the survivor who was not
the deceased annuitant’s child

* Child in a newly established parent-child relationship
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Medicare Eligibility

If you are currently enrolled in a CalPERS Basic plan, you

and/or your dependents are eligible to enroll in a CalPERS

Medicare plan under any of the following circumstances:

* You are age 65 or older, retired, and eligible for

premium-free Medicare Part A in your own right or
through the work history of a current, former, or
deceased spouse (you must enroll and maintain
payment of Medicare Part B).

You and/or your dependents are any age, have
End-Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) and have
completed any applicable coordination periods with
the Social Security Administration (SSA).

You are retired and you and/or your dependents
have a Social Security-qualified disability.

You are retired from a California State Teachers'
Retirement System (CalSTRS) employer and are
eligible for the CalSTRS Medicare Premium Payment
Program. For more details, see the Medicare
Enrollment Guide, visit www.calstrs.com, or call
CalSTRS toll free at (800) 228-5453.

If you have questions regarding your Medicare

eligibility, contact the Social Security Administration
at (800) 772-1213 or TTY (800) 325-0778, or

visit www.ssa.gov.

4
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Health Plan Options

Choosing a Health Plan

CalPERS offers a variety of health plans with high-quality
health care provider networks. When exploring plans, you
will want to consider factors such as:

* Lower-cost options

* The available doctors and hospitals in your area

* The location of care facilities

* And how the plan works with other health plans
like Medicare.

When you choose a plan, be sure to review the plan’s
covered and non-covered services and the restrictions on
your choice of providers. The right plan for you will depend
on your specific situation. You can use Your Guide to
Choosing a Health Plan as a checklist of tools and resources
to guide you as you shop plans so you can make the best
decision for you and your family.

If you need help selecting a plan, visit www.calpers.ca.gov
or log into your myCalPERS account at my.calpers.ca.gov to
access the following tools and resources:

* The Search Health Plans tool lets you find and
compare plans in your area; see monthly premiums
and member satisfaction ratings; view side-by-side
plan, benefit, and copay comparisons; and search for
primary care doctors and specialists.

* The Health Benefit Summary provides a side-by-side
comparison of plans and benefits, covered services,
and copayment information to help you make an

informed choice.

Health Plan Availability

If you are an active employee or a working
CalPERS retiree, you may enroll in a plan using
either your residential or work ZIP Code. You
cannot use a P.O. Box to establish eligibility, but may
use it for mailing purposes. To enroll in a Medicare
plan, you must use your residential address.

If you are a retired CalPERS member, you may
select any plan in your residential ZIP Code area. If
you are a working retiree, you may use the ZIP Code
of your current employer for plan eligibility.

If you use your residential ZIP Code, all enrolled
dependents must reside in the plan’s service area.
When you use your work ZIP Code, all enrolled
dependents must receive all covered services
(except emergency and urgent care) within the
plan's service area, even if they do not reside in
that service area.

To determine if the plan you are considering
provides service where you reside or work, contact
the plan before you enroll. You may also use the
Health Plan Search by ZIP Code tool, available at
www.calpers.ca.gov and on myCalPERS at
my.calpers.ca.gov.
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CalPERS Basic Health Plans

Depending on where you reside or work, one or more of
the following Basic health plan types may be available to you.
You can use the Health Plan Search by ZIP Code tool on our
website for the plans available in your area. (For a full listing
of health plans, refer to the Health Benefit Summary.)

Health Maintenance Organization (HMO) Plans
HMOs offer members a range of health benefits,
including preventive care. The HMO will give you a list of
doctors from which you select a primary care provider
(PCP). Your PCP coordinates your care, including referrals
to specialists. Other than applicable copays, you pay no
additional costs when you receive pre-authorized services
from the HMO's contracted providers. Except for
emergency and urgent care, if you obtain care outside the
HMO's provider network without a referral from the health

plan, you will be responsible for the total cost of services.
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Preferred Provider Organization (PPO) Plans

Unlike an HMO, where a primary care provider directs all
your care, a PPO allows you to select a primary care
provider and specialists without referral. A PPO is similar to
a traditional “fee-for-service” health plan, but you must use
doctors in the PPO network or pay higher coinsurance
(percentage of charges). In a PPO plan, you must meet an
annual deductible before some benefits apply. You are
responsible for a certain coinsurance amount, and the plan
pays the balance up to the allowable amount.

When you use a non-participating provider, you are

responsible for any charges above the amount allowed.

Exclusive Provider Organization (EPO) Health Plans
The EPOs serve certain California counties. EPO plans
offer the same covered services as an HMO plan, but you
must seek services from the plan’'s network of preferred
providers. You are also able to access physicians and
specialists that participate in the network without a referral.
You pay copayments, for some services, but you have no
deductible, no claim forms, and a geographically restricted

service area.



CalPERS Medicare Health Plans

There are Medicare Advantage Plans (Managed Care
Plans) and Supplement to Medicare Plans. Depending on
where you reside or work, one or more of the following
Medicare plan types may be available to you. (For a full

listing of plan options, refer to the Health Benefit Summary.)

For more information about how the CalPERS
Health Program works with Medicare, please
refer to the Medicare Enrollment Guide.

Medicare Advantage HMO Plans

With a Medicare Advantage HMO plan, you work closely
with your Primary Care Physician (PCP) to get the care you
need. You pay no additional costs, other than applicable
copayments, when you receive services from the plan’s
network of providers. If you go to out-of-network doctors or
hospitals, you will have to pay for all services (except for

emergency or out-of-area urgent care services).

Medicare Advantage PPO Plans

With a Medicare Advantage PPO Plan, you do not need
to select a PCP or obtain referrals to see specialists.
Members have access to a network of health care providers
known as preferred providers. This type of plan allows you
the option of seeing non-preferred providers but may
require you to pay a higher percentage of the health care
bill. These plans are available only to individuals who live in
the plan's service areas. To remain a member of a plan, you

must continue to reside in the plan service area.

PPO Supplement to Medicare Plans

With a PPO Supplement to Medicare plan, you do not
need to select a PCP or obtain referrals to see specialists.
Members have access to a network of health care providers
known as preferred providers. If your providers participate
in Medicare, your health plan will pay most bills for
Medicare-approved services. If any of your providers do not
accept Medicare payments, you will have to pay a larger
portion of your health care bills. You can find out if you will

have to pay more by asking your providers.

Combination Plans

CalPERS requires all family members to have the same
health carrier. A combination plan means at least one family
member is enrolled in a Medicare plan and at least one
family member is enrolled in a Basic plan through the same
health carrier.

Your current CalPERS Basic plan may not offer a CalPERS-
sponsored Medicare plan; therefore, a health plan change
would be required. Consider your family's needs when
determining which Medicare plan is right for you. If you or
your family member become eligible for Medicare and
enroll in a CalPERS Medicare plan, all members of your
family will be impacted by the Medicare member's change

in health plans.

Important Reminder

Once you or your family members enroll in a
CalPERS Medicare health plan, you may not change
back to a CalPERS Basic plan. This rule does not
apply if the Social Security Administration cancels
your Medicare benefits for a reason such as a
permanent move outside the United States, or you
return to work and are eligible for employer group
health coverage. If your Medicare benefits are
canceled due to non-payment of your Medicare
Part B premiums or by your request, you may not
change back to a CalPERS Basic plan.
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Costs & Paying

How to Calculate Your Cost

Your cost depends on the plan you choose and your
employer or former employer’s contribution toward

that plan's premium.

Health Plan _ Employer - Your
Premium Contribution Cost

Health Premium Contributions

For more information about health plan costs,
please refer to the Health Plans & Rates page
on the CalPERS website at www.calpers.ca.gov.

The employer contribution is the amount your employer or
former employer will contribute toward your health plan

premium. The amount of this contribution varies.

State and CSU Contributions

When you retire from the State of California or the
California State University (CSU), you may receive a
percentage of the State's contribution toward your health
plan premium in retirement. Employer contributions are
subject to vesting requirements and can be found on the
Retiree Plans & Rates webpage on the CalPERS website at

www.calpers.ca.gov.
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Public Agency and School Contributions

If you're retiring from a public agency or school, your
employer’'s monthly contribution is established by contract.
Your employer has the authority to make changes to the

contribution amount or cancel the contract.
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https://www.calpers.ca.gov

Health Vesting

State Health Vesting Requirements

For state employees, “vesting” refers to the amount of
time you must be employed by the state to be eligible to
receive employer contributions toward the cost of the
monthly health premium during retirement. Bargaining unit
negotiations may affect the state's vesting requirements.

Exempt employees are also subject to health vesting
based on their state hire date. For additional information,
please refer to the Understanding Health into Retirement
for Specialized Categories of State Employees guide on
our website.

State vesting requirements do not apply to employees of
the Legislature, contracting agency retirees, or those on
disability retirement. The amount the state contributes
toward your health coverage depends on whether you are
vested. The contribution amount is determined by a
formula set by law and the date you were first hired by the
state. A state contribution of 100% may not cover the
entire cost of the health plan premiums (you will be
responsible for the remaining balance).

The following applies to all state employees, exempt
employees, Legislators, Judges, LRS and JRS members
based on their first state hire date as indicated below.

* First hired by the state prior to January 1, 1985: You
are eligible to receive 100% of the State's contribution
toward your health premium upon your retirement.

* First hired by the state between January 1, 1985 and
January 1,1989: You are subject to vesting
requirements, as follows:

- 10 years of credited state service: You are fully
vested and qualify for 100% of the state's
contribution toward your health premium.

- Less than 10 years of credited state service: You
are eligible for health coverage; however, the
state’'s contribution will be reduced by 10% for
each year of service under 10 years. You will be
responsible for the difference.

The following state bargaining units, exempt employees,

and excluded employees have a 20-year health vesting

schedule based on their first state hire date as indicated

below. The percentage of the state's contribution is based

on your completed years of state service.

Bargaining Units 2, 3, 4,5, 6,7, 8,10, 11,12, 13, 14,15,
16,18, 19, 20, and 21 — after January 1, 1989
Bargaining Units 1,9, and 17 — after June 1,1989
Excluded and exempt employees —

after January 1,1990

Years of Credited

State Service State Contribution

Fewer than 10 0%

10 50%

10-19 50%, plus 5% added for
each year after the 10th year

20 or more 100%

The following applies to all Judges, state, and excluded

employees. These bargaining units have a 25-year vesting

schedule for those who are first hired on or after certain

dates. These bargaining units and hire dates are as follows:

Bargaining Unit 12 and related employees — On or
after January 1, 2011

Bargaining Units 9, 10, and related employees — On
or after January 1, 2016

Bargaining Units 1, 2,3, 4, 6,7, 8,11,13,14, 15, 17,18,
19, 20, 21, related employees, and the Judicial
Branch —

On or after January 1, 2017

Bargaining Unit 16 and related employees — On or
after April 1, 2017

Bargaining Unit 5 and related employees — On or
after January 1, 2020

Note: Employees of the Judicial Branch hired prior to

January 1, 2017 are subject to the 10 years’ vesting requirement.
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If you were hired as a state employee in one of these

bargaining units or its related employees on or after the Years of Credited . L
o ) State Agency Service State Contribution

date indicated, and you've earned 25 years of state service,

you are fully vested and qualify for 100% of the state's Fewer than 15 0%

contribution toward your health premium. This table shows

the percentage of the state's contribution you will receive E %

based on your years of service credit. 15-24 50%, plus 5% for each
year after the 15th year

25 or more 100%

CSU Health Vesting Requirements

Some CSU bargaining units hired on or after certain dates
are subject to a 10-year health vesting schedule. Once you
reach 10 years of service credit, you are fully vested and
qualify for 100% of the state's contribution toward your health
premium. The bargaining units and hire dates are as follows:

* Bargaining Unit 3 — On or after July 1, 2017

* Non-represented employees — On or after
July 1, 2018

* Bargaining Units 1,2,4,5,6,7,9,and 10 —
On or after July 1, 2018

* Bargaining Unit 11 — On or after July 1, 2019

Contracting Agency Health Vesting Requirements

Contracting agency employees may be subject to vesting
requirements. Some contracting agencies elect to establish
vesting requirements for their employees upon retirement.
Vesting schedules apply only to employees hired on or after
the effective date of the contract or memorandum of

understanding that establish vesting requirements.
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Enrolling in a Health Plan

Enroliment Events & Effective Dates

This section provides information about enroliment time
. ) ) Enrollment Event Type  Effective Date
frames and effective dates for enrolling yourself and family

members. If your initial time frame expires, you may enroll Open Enrollment January st of the
during the next Open Enrollment period, or during a special following year
or late enrollment opportunity. (See section “Additional

pp? o y ) ] Permissive Event* 1st of the following month
Enrollment Opportunities” on page 16 for more information.) after the request is received.
The chart on pages 17-18 identifies the forms and supporting Request must be within
documentation required to enroll eligible family members. 60 days of the event date.

There are two types of qualifying health enrollment i
Mandatory Event 1st of the following month

events, permissive and mandatory. after the event date

Permissive: Health changes related to these events are

voluntary. If you choose to make a change, you must submit * Enrollment requests made outside of 60 days of the event date
your request within 60 days of the qualifying event. will result in a HIPAA late enrollment. See page 14 for additional
Changes are effective the first of the month following the enrollment opportunities.
received date.
Examples of permissive events: If you aren't currently enrolled, the following life events
* New CalPERS covered employment allow for a new enrollment in a health plan.

* Marriage or registered domestic partnership
* Change of address Permissive
Mandatory: Mandatory qualifying events require that Life Event or Mandatory

you make a change to your enrollment. The effective date is ) .
the first of the month following the event. Hdloigany Flesernent for Adepiion el e
Examples of mandatory events include: Birth Mandatory

* Divorce or termination of a domestic partnership

. Court-Ordered C Permissi
* Death of a dependent family member SRR e e ermissive
* Death of a subscriber Loss of Other Coverage Permissive
Marriage Permissive
Retirement Permissive

Open Enrollment
The Open Enrollment period takes place each fall.

Changes made during Open Enrollment are effective
the following January 1. During this time, you can:

* Enroll in a health plan

* Change health plans

* Add or remove eligible dependents

* Cancel coverage

Health Program Guide | 11



Where to Get Help With

Your Health Benefits Enrollment

If you are an active employee, contact your health
benefits officer to make all health benefit
enrollment changes. Your health benefits officer is
usually located in your personnel office or human
resources department. With your health benefits
officer's approval, you may also make changes
online through myCalPERS at my.calpers.ca.gov.

Once you retire, CalPERS becomes your health
benefits officer. As a retiree, you may make changes
to your health plan in any of the following ways:

* Online through myCalPERS at
my.calpers.ca.gov
* By calling us toll free at 888 CalPERS
(or 888-225-7377)

By faxing or writing to us at:
CalPERS
Health Account Management Division
P.O. Box 942715
Sacramento, CA 94229-2715
Fax: (800) 959-6545

The chart on pages 17-18 indicates the forms and
supporting documentation needed for most changes.

Employees
You have 60 days from the date of your initial appointment
to enroll or decline to enroll in a health plan. You can choose
to enroll yourself, or yourself and all eligible family members.
(Permanent Intermittent employees have 60 days from the
end of the qualifying control period to enroll.) The effective
date is the first day of the month following the date your
health benefits officer receives the Health Benefits Plan
Enrollment for Active Employees form (HBD-12).
When you enroll, you must enroll yourself or yourself and
all eligible family members unless the family member is:
* Covered under another health plan
* A spouse not living in your household
* A child aged 18 to 26
* A member of the armed forces
You must complete the Health Benefits Plan Enrollment
for Active Employees (HBD-12) coverage form during your
initial eligibility period, whether you elect to enroll or

decline health coverage.
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If you or your eligible family members decline to enroll
during the initial enrollment period, enrollment can occur at
a later date. (See “Split Enrollments” on page 15 and

“Additional Enrollment Opportunities” on page 16.)

Retirees

As an eligible retiree, you may enroll yourself or yourself
and all eligible family members in a health plan within 60
days of your retirement date. The effective date is the first
day of the month following the date CalPERS receives the
Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for Retirees and Survivors
form (HBD-30). You may also enroll during any future Open
Enrollment period or due to other life events. (See section
“Additional Enrollment Opportunities” on page 16).

If you are enrolled in a CalPERS health plan when you
separate from employment and want to continue your
enrollment into retirement, your coverage will automatically
continue as long as your separation and retirement dates
are within 30 days of each other. (See the section “When
You Are Retiring” beginning on page 26 for more details.) If
you do not wish to continue your CalPERS health coverage,
contact your health benefits officer (CalPERS, if already

retired) to cancel your coverage.

Note: As you transition from active employment to retirement,
be sure to inform CalPERS if you or your dependents are eligible

for or enrolled in Medicare.

Survivors

You may enroll in a health plan as a survivor if you were
eligible for enrollment as a dependent on the date of death of a
CalPERS retiree and you receive a monthly survivor check. If
you meet eligibility requirements, you may enroll in a health
plan within 60 days of the employee or annuitant’s death. You
may also enroll during any future Open Enrollment period or
due to other qualifying events (see page 21). If your survivor
benefits are pending approval, you may elect to enroll in
Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA).
The effective date of enroliment is the first day of the month
following the date CalPERS receives your Health Benefits Plan
Enrollment for Retirees and Survivors form (HBD-30).
Exceptions may apply for certain contracting agency survivors
who do not receive a monthly survivor check. Contact your

spouse’s former employer for additional information.


https://my.calpers.ca.gov
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If you are enrolled in a CalPERS health plan as a
dependent on the date of death of the retiree, we will
automatically enroll you as a survivor once your first

monthly survivor check is issued. A survivor can only enroll

Enrolling Family Members

dependents who were eligible for CalPERS health benefits
at the time of the retiree’s death.

For more information regarding health coverage options
for survivors, see the section “Death of Employee or Retiree”

on page 21.

Spouse

You may add your spouse to your health plan within 60
days of your marriage. You are required to provide a copy of
the government issued marriage certificate and your spouse’s
Social Security number and Medicare card (if applicable).
Your spouse’s coverage is effective the first day of the month
following the receipt of the Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for
Active Employees form (HBD-12) or Health Benefits Plan
Enroliment for Retirees and Survivors form (HBD-30).

Note: If your spouse does not have a Social Security number, they
can still be enrolled in CalPERS health benefits.

Registered Domestic Partner

You may add your registered domestic partner to your health
plan within 60 days of registration of the domestic partnership.
The coverage is effective the first day of the month following
the receipt of the Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for Active
Employees form (HBD-12) or Health Benefits Plan Enrollment
for Retirees and Survivors form (HBD-30).

To add a domestic partner to your health plan, you must
register your domestic partnership through the California
Secretary of State's Office or equivalent office from another
state. Upon registration, that office will provide you with a
Declaration of Domestic Partnership. CalPERS requires that
you submit a copy of the approved Declaration of Domestic
Partnership, your domestic partner’s Social Security number,
and a copy of their Medicare card (if applicable). For more
information about domestic partnership registration, visit the

Secretary of State's website at www.sos.ca.gov.

Note: If your registered domestic partner does not have a Social

Security number, they can still be enrolled in CalPERS health benefits.

Children

Natural-born, adopted, stepchildren, and domestic
partner’s children who are under age 26 may be enrolled in
your health plan, as outlined below:

* Newborn children may be added within 60 days of
birth. For up to 30 days of the newborn's life, they will
be covered under the policy of the birth parent under
their policy and deductible.

* Coverage as a dependent begins the first day of the
month following the date of birth.

* Newly adopted children may be added within 60
days of physical custody. Coverage is effective from
the date physical custody is obtained.

« Stepchildren or a domestic partner’s children under
age 26 can be added within 60 days after the date of
your marriage or registration of your domestic
partnership.

With the exception of newborn children and newly adopted
children, the coverage is effective the first day of the month
following the receipt of the Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for
Active Employees form (HBD-12) or Health Benefits Plan
Enrollment for Retirees and Survivors form (HBD-30).

Disabled Children Over Age 26

A child aged 26 and over who is incapable of self-support
because of a mental or physical condition may be eligible to
enroll. The disability must have existed prior to reaching age
26 and continuously since age 26, as certified by a licensed
physician specializing in the dependent's disability. You are
required to complete section A of the Disabled Dependent
Member Questionnaire and Medical Report form (HBD-34)
and the Authorization to Disclose Protected Health
Information (PERS-BSD-35) and submit the documents to
the dependent’s physician. The physician must complete
section B and C of the Member Questionnaire and Medical
Report form (HBD-34) and send the document directly to
CalPERS for review. The initial certification of the Disabled
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Dependent must occur during one of the following two
eligibility periods (whichever applies):
* Within 90 days before and 60 days after
the child's 26th birthday
* Within 60 days of a newly eligible employee’s
initial enrollment in the CalPERS Health Program

Note: Retirement is not a qualifying event to add
a disabled dependent.

Upon certification of eligibility, the dependent’s CalPERS
health and dental coverage must be continuous and without
lapse. Please see "Disabled Dependent Recertification” on

page 25.

Note: If the disabled child has a Social Security Disability (SSD),
provide CalPERS with a completed Certification of Medicare Status
and a copy of the Medicare card showing the Medicare Benefit
Identifier (MBI) and effective dates for Medicare Parts A&B.

Disabled Children Not Eligible for Coverage
The following disabled children are not eligible for coverage:
* Dependent children whose disability occurred after
age 26
* Dependents who initially continued CalPERS Health
coverage as disabled dependents beyond age 26 and

who were later deleted from the enrollment

* Dependent children whose disability occurred prior to

age 26, who were not certified as disabled
dependents at age 26

* Dependents who are capable of self-support

* Disabled dependents who were not recertified prior

to the expiration date

Dependents in a Parent-Child Relationship

A child other than an adopted, step, or natural-born child,
up to age 26, may be added to your health plan if you
assume parental status or duties. This relationship must
be certified at the time of enroliment of the child and then
annually on your birth month. Recertification is also required
when you enroll as a retiree. Foster children are not eligible
to enroll in a parent-child relationship. If you obtain legal
guardianship of a foster child, please contact your health
benefits officer.

You have 60 days from the date you assume parental
status of the child to enroll them in your health plan.

To enroll a dependent who is in a parent-child relationship,

14 | Health Program Guide

you must complete and submit an Affidavit of Parent-Child
Relationship. You must provide supporting documentation as
indicated on the Affidavit of Parent-Child Relationship (HBD-
40). Coverage is effective the first day of the month following
the receipt of the Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for Active
Employees form (HBD-12) or Health Benefits Plan Enrollment
for Retirees and Survivors form (HBD-30) and all necessary
supporting documentation.

For dependents age 18 and under, the annual recertification
requires a copy of the first page of your previous year's income tax
return listing the child as a tax dependent.

If you can't provide a tax return, then you must do one of the
following:

* During the child's initial enrollment in a parent-child
relationship, you must submit three documents that
substantiate the child's financial dependence as
indicated on the Affidavit of Parent-Child Relationship
(HBD-40). This exception is limited to one tax filing
year.

* If you do not file taxes, you must submit:

— A confirmation from the Internal Revenue Service,
Franchise Tax Board, certified public accountant, tax
preparer, or other tax professional indicating a tax
return is not required, and

— Three or more supporting documents as indicated on
the Affidavit of Parent-Child Relationship (HBD-40).

For dependents aged 19 up to age 26, the annual
recertification requires:

* A copy of the first page of your income tax return from
the previous tax year listing the child as a tax
dependent, or

* Supporting documents that substantiate that the child is
financially dependent, provided that the child either:

- Lives with you rent free for more than 50% of the
time (submit two supporting documents), or

— Lives with you and pays rent or is a full-time student
and doesn't live with you (submit three supporting
documents).

The Affidavit of Parent-Child Relationship provides a list of
acceptable supporting documents. All supporting documents
must have the child’s name printed on them by the issuer. All
supporting documents may not be older than 60 calendar days
from the date of signature of the Affidavit of Parent-Child
Relationship (legal judgments, court documents, driver’s licenses,
state identification, vehicle registrations, and rental/lease

agreements may be older than 60 days).



Unlawful Enrollments

Split Enroliments

When two active or retired CalPERS members are married to
each other or in a domestic partnership, each member can
enroll separately. However, when these individuals enroll in a
CalPERS health plan in their own right, one parent must carry
all dependents on one health plan. Parents cannot split
enrollment of dependents among two different CalPERS health
plans. Once a split enrollment is identified, the enrollment will
be retroactively canceled. You will be responsible for all costs
incurred from the date the split enrollment began.

The table below shows examples of eligible enrollments and
examples of unlawful split enroliments.

If two parents are enrolled separately in CalPERS health
plans, one parent must carry all dependents on one health
plan. For example, if a CalPERS member with children marries
another CalPERS member with children and each member has
their own enrollment in the CalPERS Health Program, then all
children must be enrolled under one parent.

Plan A Plan B Eligibile
00AA Yes
00AA Yes
OAA o Yes
o OAA Yes
AO® A® No
@ Parent

A Dependent

Enrolling in Two CalPERS Health Plans

Dual CalPERS coverage occurs when you are enrolled in a
CalPERS health plan as both a subscriber and a dependent or
as a dependent on two enrollments. This duplication of
coverage is not permitted by PEMHCA. When dual CalPERS
coverage is identified, the enrollment that caused the dual
coverage is retroactively canceled. You will be responsible for
all costs incurred from the date the dual coverage began.

Members may enroll in both a CalPERS health plan and a
health plan provided through a non-CalPERS employer. For
example, your spouse may enroll as a dependent in your
CalPERS plan and in a plan from their non-CalPERS contracting
employer. In this case, the two plans may coordinate benefits.
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Additional Enrollment Opportunities

The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act
(HIPAA) offers two provisions for employees, retirees,
and family members to enroll in CalPERS health plans
outside of the initial enroliment period and the Open

Enrollment period.

Special Enrollment

Special Enrollment refers to certain enrollment
opportunities that occur after your initial enrollment but
outside of the annual Open Enrollment period. You may
need Special Enrollment under the following circumstances:

You lose other health coverage: If you initially declined
or canceled enrollment for yourself or your dependents
because you had other health coverage, you may be able to
enroll in a CalPERS health plan if the other coverage ends.
To qualify, you will need to request enrollment within 60
days of the other coverage ending and provide proof that
the other coverage has ended.

Court order: Enroll an eligible family member into your
health benefits as required by court order. The effective date
is the first of the month following the court order date, unless

the court order specifies a specific effective date of coverage.

Once You Are Enrolled

Note: This does not apply to former spouses.

You have new family members: \When you enroll, you
must enroll yourself or yourself and all eligible family
members. If you later have a new dependent as a result of
marriage, domestic partnership registration, birth, change of
custody, or placement of adoption, you may enroll yourself
and all eligible dependents within 60 days of that event.

The effective date for a Special Enrollment is the first day
of the month following the receipt of the Health Benefits
Plan Enroliment for Active Employees form (HBD-12) or
Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for Retirees and Survivors

form (HBD-30) and all the required documentation.

Late Enrollment

If you decline or cancel enrollment for yourself or your
dependents and the Special Enrollment opportunities
do not apply, your right to enroll or add dependents
outside of Open Enrollment is limited. The earliest
effective date of enrollment is the first of the month

following a 90-day waiting period.

Check Your Health Deductions

When you enroll for the first time, change plans, or
add/delete dependents, carefully review the itemized
deductions listed on your paycheck or retirement check.
Verify that the amount of your share of the plan premium is
correct. More information on plan premiums can be found
on the Plans and Rates page of our website.

If you change plans during Open Enrollment but your
January paycheck or retirement check does not reflect your
new plan’s premium payment, do not continue to use your
previous plan’s services after the first of the year. The
premium payment will be adjusted during the subsequent
pay period. If your Open Enrollment plan change is not
reflected on your next paycheck or retirement check,

contact your employer or CalPERS if retired.
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A $0.00 health premium deduction on your paycheck or
retirement check indicates that your employer (or former
employer) is paying the entire premium on your behalf. If
you change plans, you should check to make sure the new

plan name is listed on your paycheck or retirement check.

Health Plan Identification Cards
You will need your health plan identification card when
you seek medical care. Identification cards are issued by
each plan when you enroll, not by CalPERS. Contact your
plan directly if:
* You do not receive your card by the effective date of
your initial enrollment
* You need care before your card arrives
You need additional or replacement cards
You can often access an electronic identification card by

registering for an online account with your health plan.



Enrollment Forms and Required Documents

Getting the Information You Need

You may view and download health benefits forms and

publications on our website at www.calpers.ca.gov.

The chart on the following pages can assist you in

determining the forms and supporting documentation we

need to make various types of enrollment changes.

See page 11 for how to submit your documents.

Enrollment type

Copies of Supporting Documents *

CalPERS Forms **

Active employee .
(new enrollment)

Adding a registered
domestic partner

Adding a spouse

Adding a dependent who
is in a parent-child
relationship (PCR)

Adding/deleting a
dependent child

Changing plans due to
address change

Medicare certification
(to validate eligibility,
ineligibility, or deferment)

N/A

Declaration of Domestic Partnership from
the California Secretary of State's Office
Social Security card*

Medicare card (if applicable)

Government-issued marriage certificate
Social Security card*

Medicare card (if applicable)

Required supporting documentation as
indicated on the Affidavit of Parent-Child
Relationship

Medicare card (if applicable)
Reason for add/delete
Birth certificate

Social Security card*

Include both old and new addresses

Medicare card (reflecting Parts A & B
enrollment) or SSA Notice of Award
Supporting documentation from the SSA
of Medicare ineligibility or supporting
documentation showing enrollment in the

other Employer Group Health Plan

» Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for Active Employees form
(HBD-12)

*» Health Benefits Plan Enroliment for Active Employees form
(HBD-12)
» Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for Retirees form (HBD-30)

» Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for Active Employees form
(HBD-12)
* Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for Retirees form (HBD-30)

» Affidavit of Parent-Child Relationship (HBD-40)

» Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for Active Employees form
(HBD-12)

» Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for Retirees form (HBD-30)

*» Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for Active Employees form
(HBD-12)
* Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for Retirees form (HBD-30)

» Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for Active Employees form
(HBD-12)
» Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for Retirees form (HBD-30)

= Certification of Medicare Status form

» |neligibility of Medicare Certification form

Health Program Guide
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Enrollment type Copies of Supporting Documents * CalPERS Forms **

Death of employee, * Death certificate * N/A

retiree, or family

member

Deleting aregistered * Termination of Domestic Partnership » Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for Active Employees form
domestic partner (due to submitted to the California Secretary of (HBD-12)

termination of partnership) State's Office * Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for Retirees form (HBD-30)
Deleting a spouse * Divorce judgment » Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for Active Employees form
due to divorce (HBD-12)

* Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for Retirees form (HBD-30)

Disabled child * N/A » Disabled Dependent Member Questionnaire and Medical Report
over age 26 (certification) form (HBD-34)
» Authorization to Disclose Protected Health Information
(PERS-BSD-35)

Enrolling self or * Certificate of Creditable Coverage, or » Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for Active Employees form
dependents due to loss other proof of loss of coverage (HBD-12)
of other health coverage . \jedicare card (if applicable) * Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for Retirees form (HBD-30)

* Birth certificate (child)

* Government-issued marriage certificate
(spouse)

* Declaration of Domestic Partnership
(domestic partner)

* Social Security card*

Retiree * Medicare card (if applicable) » Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for Retirees form (HBD-30)
(new enrollment) * Government-issued marriage certificate

(if applicable)

Off-Pay Status * N/A » Direct Payment Authorization form (HBD-21)

(continue coverage) » Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for Active Employees form
(HBD-12)

Off-Pay Status * N/A » Direct Payment Authorization form (HBD-21)

(cancel coverage) * Health Benefits Plan Enrollment for Active Employees form
(HBD-12)

* Do not submit original documents, since they are not returned. If your eligible dependent does not have a Social Security number,
they can still be enrolled in CalPERS health benefits.

** With your health benefits officer's approval, you may also make changes online through myCalPERS at my.calpers.ca.gov.

If you do, the HBD-12 and HBD-30 forms are not required, and all supporting documents may be submitted electronically.
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Life Events That Can Impact Your Enrollment

Family Changes

You are responsible for ensuring the health enroliment
information about you and your family members is
accurate, and for reporting any changes in a timely manner.
If you fail to maintain current and accurate health
enrollment information, you will be liable for the health
premiums or health care services incurred during the entire
ineligibility period. Health plan premium reimbursements
are limited to a six-month period for certain life events.

You must report the following life events to make the

appropriate change to your health coverage.

Marital Status or Registered Domestic Partnership

Changes in family status because of marriage, divorce, or
death may affect your health plan enrollment. Establishing
or terminating a registered domestic partnership may also
result in changes.

When you divorce or terminate a registered domestic
partnership, your former spouse or registered domestic
partner and former stepchildren or domestic partner's
children are no longer eligible to receive CalPERS health

benefits under your coverage unless you assume parental

Disenroll Ineligible Family Members Immediately

status or duties. (See the section "Dependents in a Parent-
Child Relationship" on page 14.). The coverage terminates on
the first day of the month following the divorce or
termination of registered domestic partnership date. A copy
of the final divorce judgment or Termination of Domestic
Partnership is required when you delete a former spouse or
registered domestic partner from your health plan.

For example, if your divorce or dissolution occurred in
2020, yet you did not report it until 2023, your former
spouse or registered domestic partner will be retroactively
deleted from coverage effective the first of the month
following the divorce or dissolution. The health premiums
will be adjusted for a period of no more than six months
from the date your health benefits officer receives copies of

supporting documentation.

Note: Although a member’s divorce judgment or settlement may
stipulate that they must provide health benefits for the former spouse,
the former spouse cannot remain enrolled in CalPERS health benefits,
as they are no longer an eligible family member. The member would

need to obtain other health coverage for the former spouse.

PEMHCA prohibits the continued enrollment of ineligible family members. If you do not disenroll them, you must pay

all costs incurred by the ineligible person during the ineligibility period.
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Employment Changes

As your employment status changes, so can your
eligibility for CalPERS health benefits. Following are
examples of some of those changes and information on

how you can maintain your health coverage eligibility.

Off-Pay Status/Temporary Leave

You may continue your coverage during off-pay status or
while on temporary leave by paying the entire monthly
health premium directly to your health plan. You are eligible
for direct payment if you:

* Take a leave of absence without pay

* Take temporary disability leave (not covered by
FMLA) and do not use sick leave or vacation credits

* Are waiting for approval of disability retirement or
“regular” service retirement

* Are waiting for approval of Non-Industrial Disability
Insurance benefits

* Are suspended from your job

* Institute legal proceedings appealing a dismissal
from your job

* Are a state permanent intermittent employee
eligible for health benefits but are on non-pay
status. (Direct payment may only be elected
through the end of the qualifying control period.)

To initiate direct payment, complete the Direct Payment
Authorization form (HBD-21). You must submit requests for
the direct payment option to your employer prior to the
beginning of your leave, but no later than the last day of the
month of coverage. If you do not elect the direct payment
option during off-pay status, your health coverage will be
canceled. You can re-enroll when you return to pay status
with your CalPERS-covered employer if your earnings are

sufficient to cover your share of the monthly premium.
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While enrolled in direct payment you can:
* Add newly acquired dependents
* Delete dependents
* Change plans (due to a move or during Open
Enrollment)
* Cancel your coverage
See page 16 for the required forms and supporting

documents.

Military Duty

When you take a leave of absence for military duty, you
may continue coverage by paying the monthly health
premium directly to your health plan. With direct payment,
there are no administrative costs, and your employer does
not contribute to your health premium. Your CalPERS health
coverage will resume the day you return to pay status. To
initiate direct payment, contact your health benefits officer
for a Direct Payment Authorization form (HBD-21). You also
have the option to cancel coverage, and may re-enroll upon

returning from military duty.

Leaving Your Job

If you leave your job for reasons other than retirement,
you are covered until the first day of the second month
following the last date you were employed. You must
have sufficient earnings to cover your share of the
health premium.

If you elect to cancel your coverage before you leave your
job, your benefits will not continue, and you will not be

eligible for COBRA Continuation Coverage.



Death

Notify CalPERS upon the death of any member, retiree,
survivor, or anyone receiving a CalPERS benefit. Employees
and annuitants must report the death of a spouse, registered

domestic partner, or dependent as soon as possible.

Death of an Employee

If the employee was eligible to retire on the date of death,
the surviving family members are eligible for continuation
of health benefits provided they were eligible at the time of
death and qualify for a monthly survivor check.

After the death of an active state employee, state
employers are required to pay contributions for the health
coverage of all enrolled eligible dependents for up to 120
days after the death.

Losing Your CalPERS Coverage

Family members who do not meet these qualifications
may be eligible for Consolidated Omnibus Budget
Reconciliation Act (COBRA) Continuation Coverage.

(See the following section “Losing Your CalPERS Coverage”
for more information about COBRA.)

Death of a Retiree
Surviving family members are eligible for continued health
benefit coverage provided they qualify for a monthly survivor
check, were eligible dependents at the time of the retiree's
death, and continue to qualify as eligible family members.
Surviving family members who do not meet these
qualifications may be eligible for COBRA Continuation

Coverage.

If you lose your CalPERS health coverage, you have two
options to continue your health benefits: COBRA

Continuation Coverage or an Individual Conversion Policy.

COBRA Continuation Coverage

COBRA allows you and your dependents to continue
health coverage for a limited time under certain
circumstances such as job loss (for reasons other than
gross misconduct), reduction in hours worked, death,
divorce, and other life events. Your cost under COBRA may
include an additional fee, but your total generally will not
exceed 102% of the monthly group premium rate.

If you or your dependents are eligible for COBRA, you
will be notified by your employer or by CalPERS if retired.
You must complete and return a Group Continuation
Coverage form (HBD-85 for active employees and
HBD-85R for retirees) within 60 days of notification.
Coverage must be continuous from the date your CalPERS
coverage ends. You must make your premium payments
directly to the health plan.

Guidelines for COBRA Continuation Coverage
are as follows:

Active Employees
You may continue COBRA coverage for 18 months if
either of the following applies:
* You separate from employment for reasons other
than dismissal due to gross misconduct, or
* You have a reduction in work hours to less than half-
time (or less than 480 hours in a control period for
state permanent intermittent employees)
Coverage for either of these reasons applies to you and

any enrolled dependents.

Disabled Employees

If you qualify for Social Security Disability or the
Supplemental Security Income program, you may continue
coverage for up to 29 months. The cost to you cannot
exceed 102% of the monthly group premium for the first 18
months, and 150% of the monthly group premium for
months 19 to 29. This COBRA coverage applies to you and

any enrolled dependents.
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Dependents

Dependents may enroll in COBRA for up to 36 months as

a result of any of the following:

* Death of the member under which they were

dependents. Eligibility applies whether the member
was working or retired at the time of death
(dependent must have been enrolled in the health
plan at the time of member's death).

Divorce, termination of registered domestic
partnership, or legal separation.

Enrolled child reaches age 26.

Cancellation of COBRA Coverage

COBRA coverage for you or your dependents remains in

effect until one of the following events occurs:

22

You fail to pay the premium

You receive coverage through another
group health plan

You become entitled to Medicare
Your coverage time limit ends

You request cancellation

Health Program Guide

Extension of COBRA Coverage

Under certain conditions, California law permits an
extension of COBRA benefits. This extension does not
apply to out-of-state COBRA enrollees.

If you exhaust your federal COBRA benefit and have had
less than 36 months of COBRA coverage, Cal-COBRA may
extend the benefit up to a total of 36 months. This
Cal-COBRA extension premium cannot exceed 150% of the
current group rate. Contact your health carrier to enroll in
Cal-COBRA.

Individual Conversion Policy

An Individual Conversion Policy is an alternative to
COBRA or can follow COBRA coverage. If you lose your
CalPERS health benefits or COBRA coverage, you can
request an Individual Conversion Policy through your prior
health plan. You must request this new policy within
30 days of losing coverage. All CalPERS health plans offer
this Individual Conversion Policy option, but your cost and

benefits will differ from your previous coverage.



When You Can Change Your Health Plan

You may change your health plan at the following times:

If you move
You must change plans if you move out of your health

plan’s service area. Until you make the change, your health
plan may limit coverage to emergency or urgent care only.
When you move, change employment, or your dependent
moves out of the service area, you may submit a health plan
change up to 60 days after the move. The effective date of
the change is the first of the month following the receipt of

your request.

When you retire

You may change health plans within 60 days of your
retirement date. You may select any health plan available in
your residential ZIP Code area. If you are a working retiree,
you can use the ZIP Code of a current employer for
eligibility purposes. The effective date of the change is the

first of the month following the receipt of your request.
If you are a working retiree enrolled in a Medicare plan,
you must use your residential address for eligibility. You

cannot use your work address or a P.O. Box to enroll.

When you qualify for Medicare

As a retiree, when you first become eligible for
Medicare, you must change from a CalPERS Basic health
plan to a CalPERS Medicare health plan. You may also
change health plans within 60 days from the effective date
of your Medicare enrollment. The effective date of the
change is the first of the month following the receipt of

your request.

During the CalPERS Open Enrollment period
Open Enrollment is held each fall, and changes become
effective the following January 1. You may change your

health plan during the Open Enrollment period.

Health Provider Disruptions Are Not an Event to Change Health Plans

If your provider network changes during the plan year, because your health plan or health provider terminates their

contract or they are unsuccessful in negotiating a new contract, you may select another provider, but this is not a

qualifying event to change health plans. It is important to remember that no purchaser of health care (even CalPERS) can

guarantee you will continue your relationship with your provider if their contract ends.
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Maintaining Your Enrollment

Dependent Eligibility Verification (State and CSU only)

To ensure only eligible family members are enrolled in
health and/or dental benefits under the CalPERS Health
Benefits Program, all state employees and annuitants
must verify their dependents’ continued eligibility.

Dependent verification is required every three years
for the following dependents:

* Spouses

* Registered domestic partners

* Stepchildren

* Children of registered domestic partners

Natural-born and adopted children only need to
be verified once while you are an active employee and once

during your re-verification as a retiree.

Required Documentation
Spouse or Domestic Partner

You must submit a copy of your government-issued
marriage certificate or domestic partnership registration
filed with the California Secretary of State or a comparable
agency in another jurisdiction, and one of the following
financial documents:

* A copy of the first page of your federal or state
income tax return from the previous tax year, listing
you and your spouse or domestic partner, or

* A copy of a document dated within the last 60 days
showing current relationship status, such as a
recurring household bill or joint statement of account.
The document must list your name, the name of your
spouse, and same address. In the situation of spouses
who keep their finances separate, you may provide
separate household bills or account statements if the
documents show the same address and are not older
than 60 calendar days.

You do not need to submit financial documents if your
spouse or registered domestic partner is a CalPERS, JRS,
JRSII, or LRS retiree who receives their own retirement
check and has the same address as you.

If we determine that you are unable to produce a

government issued marriage certificate due to extenuating
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circumstances, you may complete and submit a notarized
CalPERS Affidavit of Marriage/Domestic Partnership.

If the marriage certificate was registered prior to
January 1,1980, the marriage certificate does not need

to indicate government issued.

Natural-born and Adopted Children

* A copy of the birth certificate naming you as the parent

Stepchildren
* A copy of the birth certificate naming your current
spouse as the parent
* For a stepchild, you must also provide documentation

of your current relationship to your spouse

Domestic Partner Children
* A copy of the birth certificate naming your current
registered domestic partner as the parent
* For a domestic partner child, you must also provide
documentation of your current relationship to your

domestic partner

Verification Schedule

The verification cycle is based on your birth month.
This three-year cycle repeats. If you enroll family
members within six months of your birth month, their
eligibility will be verified during your next cycle. Please
visit our website to view a schedule of the verification

process at www.calpers.ca.gov/dev.

Verifying Family Members

Ninety calendar days before your birth month, you will
receive a letter with the verification due date, a list of
enrolled family members you must verify, and the
acceptable verification documents. Instructions on how
and where to send verification documents are included.

If you don't respond or provide the required documents
during your verification cycle, your dependents will be
removed from your health and/or dental benefits. If you

provide verification documents for disenrolled eligible
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dependents after the verification due date, those dependents

are re-enrolled the first day of the month following the date
the documents are received for health and/or dental

benefits. This will result in a gap in benefit coverage.

Note: The Dependent Eligibility Verification process is separate
from the process to recertify a parent-child relationship dependent

and a disabled dependent.

Disabled Dependent Recertification

California Code of Regulations 599.501(e) states that a
disabled dependent’s enrollment in CalPERS health and/or
dental benefits must be continuous once they attain age 26
if they remain incapable of self-support because of a
physical or mental disability. If a disabled dependent over
the age of 26 is removed from CalPERS health and/or
dental benefits for any reason, the removal is permanent,

and they are not eligible for future reinstatement.
Certification periods are determined by the dependent's

treating physician and cannot be longer than seven years.

Upon expiration of the certification, you are required to submit

Personal Information Changes

an updated Disabled Dependent Member Questionnaire and
Medical Report (HBD-34) and Authorization to Disclose
Protected Health Information (PERS-BSD-35) forms for
recertification. We must receive these documents no earlier
than 90 days prior to the expiration date, and no later than the
expiration date. If the required documentation is not received
on time, the dependent will be removed from coverage and

they will not be eligible for future reinstatement.

Annual Recertification of Parent-Child Relationship

Parent-Child Relationships must be recertified each year by
completing the Affidavit of Parent-Child Relationship (HBD-
40) form and providing the required documentation as
indicated. (See “Dependents in a Parent-Child Relationship”
on page 14). If all required documentation is not received prior
to the deletion date, the child's coverage will terminate.

If the affidavit and supporting documentation are
received after the deletion date, the parent-child dependent
must be re-enrolled following a 90-day waiting period. This
90-day late enrollment only applies to health enrollment.
Dental enrollment may only be requested at the initial
enrollment, during Open Enrollment, or due to a loss of

non-CalPERS coverage.

If your name or contact information changes for any reason,
including marriage or divorce, update your employer and
CalPERS records. This ensures that you receive all your

benefit information in a timely manner.

Name Change
If you are an active employee, you must change your or your
dependent’s name through your employer. If you are a retiree or
survivor, you need to provide CalPERS a copy of your corrected
Social Security card to change your or your dependent’s name.
In lieu of the Social Security card, we'll also accept:
* A copy of a letter from a Social Security Office
confirming the name change
* Areceipt from a Social Security Office confirming that
a new card was ordered due to the name change
* A copy of a Medicare Part B card that reflects the

corrected Social Security name

Once your or your dependent’s name is corrected on
CalPERS records, contact your health plan directly to request
new health plan identification cards. (See “Health Plan

Identification Cards” on page 16.)

Gender Change
If you are an active employee, you must change your or

your dependent’s gender through your employer. If you are a
retiree or survivor, you must provide CalPERS a copy of one of
the following documents:

* Driver's license or identification card

* Birth certificate

* Court order to change gender

* U.S. passport or U.S. passport card
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Residence or Work Address Change If you are a retiree, change your address using one of the

When you move or change employers, you must update your following options:
* Online by logging in to myCalPERS
* Contact us by phone at 888 CalPERS (or 888-225-7377)

* Download, complete, and return an Address Change

address so that the correct ZIP Code is used to establish your health
plan eligibility. Since you must choose a CalPERS health plan that
provides coverage in your work or home ZIP code, a change in your
address could mean you have to change plans. You can use the Authorization form by mailing or faxing it to the
Health Plan Search by ZIP Code tool on our website to determine if number shown on the form
you are out of your service area and see what plans are available in * Send us your new address in writing to:

Benefit Services Division

P.O. Box 942716

Sacramento, CA 94229-2716

your new ZIP code. You cannot use a P.O. Box to establish eligibility
for health plan enrollment. If you use a P.O. Box as your mailing

address, you must also provide your residential address.

If you are an active employee, contact your employer to

update your address and determine availability of health plans

in your residential or work service area.

When You Are Retiring

See "When You Can Change Your Health Plan” on page 23 for

more information on changing your health plan due to a move.

If you are nearing retirement, this section provides information

about how retirement will affect your health benefits.

Your Separation Date and Your Retirement Date

As retirement approaches, two dates are particularly

important: your separation date (last day of employment) and
your retirement date. If you are not sure when these dates occur,

talk to your employer. If you anticipate a delay in processing your

If your separation and
retirement date are...

and...

retirement, you can avoid having your coverage suspended

between your last day of work and your retirement date by

paying the full monthly premium directly to your health plan.

Contact your former employer and ask for a Direct Payment

Authorization form (HBD-21). For more information on retiree

then your health coverage...

eligibility, see page 2.

The following table explains how your separation date and

your retirement date affect your health plan enrollment.

Note

within 30 days
of each other

between 31and 120 days
of each other

within 120 days
of each other

more than
120 days apart
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you are enrolled in a
CalPERS health plan at the
time of separation

you are enrolled in a
CalPERS health plan at the
time of separation

you are eligible for — but
not enrolled in — a
CalPERS health plan at the
time of separation

regardless of whether you
are enrolled in a CalPERS
health plan at the time of
separation

will continue into retirement
without a break.

will not automatically continue.

You may re-enroll within 60
days of your retirement date or
during Open Enrollment.

eligibility remains valid.

cannot be reinstated. You are
no longer eligible for CalPERS
health benefits.

If you do not want your health benefits
to continue, contact your health benefits
officer (if still working) or decline
coverage on your CalPERS Retirement
Election Application.

When your health coverage lapses, you
may be eligible for COBRA.

You may enroll within 60 days of
your retirement date or during
Open Enrollment.

There are some exceptions. For
additional information refer to the
Understanding Health into Retirement for
Specialized Categories of State Employees
guide available on our website.



Where to Get Help Once You Are Retired

As a retiree, CalPERS is your health benefits officer. You
can make most changes to your health enrollment when you
log into myCalPERS at my.calpers.ca.gov. You may change
plans, add or delete dependents during Open Enrollment,
recertify parent-child relationships, add a newly acquired
dependent, or delete a dependent for certain life events
online. You may also request changes by fax at (800)
959-6545, by calling 888 CalPERS (or 888-225-7377), or
by requesting a change in writing and mailing the request to:

CalPERS

Health Account Management Division

P.O. Box 942715

Sacramento, CA 94229-2715

Enrollment After Reinstatement

Retirees who reinstated to active employment and then
retired again after January 1, 2014 may be eligible to
receive health benefits through their first employer. Your
eligibility depends on whether you were eligible for
retirement health coverage with the first employer, and
then separated and retired from the second employer
within 120 days. To enroll through your first employer, you
must meet the following criteria:

* You were eligible for retiree health coverage prior to
reinstatement from retirement and you then retire a
second time within 120 days of separation

* The post-retirement employer contribution of your
first employer is higher than your second employer

* You request health benefits eligibility through your
first employer

* You meet all statutory requirements for both your

previous employer and subsequent employer
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Getting Help With Your Benefits

If you have questions about your CalPERS health benefits
and you are an active member, contact your employer's

health benefits officer. If you are a retiree, contact CalPERS.

Contacting CalPERS
Online By Mail or Fax
For more information on health benefits and programs, CalPERS

visit the CalPERS website at www.calpers.ca.gov. To view
your current health plan information, go to myCalPERS at
my.calpers.ca.gov.

By Phone
Call CalPERS toll free at 888 CalPERS (or 888-225-7377)
Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
TTY (877) 249-7442 (for speech and hearing impaired)
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Health Account Management Division
P.O. Box 942715

Sacramento, CA 94229-2715

Fax (800) 959-6545

In Person

To schedule a Regional Office appointment, log in to
your myCalPERS account and select the Education tab,
then Appointments. Virtual appointments are available
by request.

You can visit a Regional Office at the following locations:


https://www.calpers.ca.gov
https://my.calpers.ca.gov

Del

Norte Siskiyou Modoc
Shasta Neper
Trinity
Humboldt
Tehama
Plumas
Butte
Glenn Sierra
Mendocino Vuba Nevada
Colusa S Placer
Lake utter
olo El Dorado
Sacramento Alpine
Sonoma ' Napa Amador P
~ Solano san Calaveras
Marin Joaquin Tuolumne Mono
Contra
Costa
San Francisco Alameda Stanislaus
San Mateo Santa Mariposa
Clara
Santa
Cruz
Merced Madera
San Inyo
Benito Fresno
Monterey
Tulare
Kings
San Luis Ke
Obispo €l
Santa Barbara
Ventura = Los Angeles
Orange

San Diego

Sacramento Regional Office
Lincoln Plaza East

400 Q Street

Lincoln Plaza East, Suite 1820
Sacramento, CA 95811

Walnut Creek Regional Office
Pacific Plaza

1340 Treat Blvd., Suite 200
Walnut Creek, CA 94597

San Jose Regional Office
181 Metro Drive, Suite 520
San Jose, CA 95110

Fresno Regional Office
10 River Park Place East, Suite 230
Fresno, CA 93720

San Bernardino Regional Office
650 East Hospitality Lane, Suite 330
San Bernardino, CA 92408

Orange Regional Office
500 North State College Blvd., Suite 750
Orange, CA 92868

San Diego Regional Office
7676 Hazard Center Drive, Suite 350
San Diego, CA 92108

San Bernardino

Riverside

Imperial

Glendale Regional Office

Glendale Plaza

655 North Central Ave., Suite 1400
Glendale, CA 91203
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Contacting Your Health Plan

To obtain up-to-date contact information for the health
plans, please refer to the Health Benefit Summary or go to
the CalPERS website at www.calpers.ca.gov. Contact your

health plan with questions about identification cards,

verification of provider participation, service area boundaries

(covered ZIP Codes), or Individual Conversion Policies. Your
plan benefits, deductibles, limitations, and exclusions are
outlined in detail in your health plan’s Evidence of Coverage.
You can obtain the Evidence of Coverage on the Forms &
Publications page of our website at www.calpers.ca.gov or

by contacting your health plan directly.

Resolving Problems

Your health plan and CalPERS work together to ensure
timely delivery of services for you and your family;
however, disagreements may occur. To resolve an issue,
you should first contact your health plan. Following is
information about specific ways your health plan and
CalPERS can help.
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Cancellation of Your Coverage and
CalPERS Administrative Review Process

If CalPERS cancels your health coverage, you can request
an Administrative Review. The Administrative Review
process helps us decide if your coverage should be
reinstated. You must ask for an Administrative Review
within 90 days of losing coverage by writing to:

CalPERS

Health Account Management Division

P.O. Box 942715

Sacramento, CA 94229-2715

Once we have all your information, we will review your
request. We will tell you within 60 days if your coverage
will be reinstated. If your coverage is not reinstated, we will

tell you why.


https://www.calpers.ca.gov
https://www.calpers.ca.gov

Appealing a Health Plan's Decision

If you receive a written response about a grievance you
have filed and you are not satisfied with the decision, you

may also appeal your plan’s decision as follows:

HMO and EPO Appeal Process

The appeals process for CalPERS Health Maintenance
Organization (HMO) and Exclusive Provider Organization
(EPO) Basic health plans is regulated by the Department
of Managed Health Care (DMHC). There are five available

levels of review, each with important timelines that must

be followed.
Review Level Process Timeline
Review 1 The health plan accepts, reviews, and » Within 30 calendar days for standard cases

Health Plan Review

issues a written decision.

Review 2 Members not satisfied with the decision
DMHC Review by the health plan can submit a
complaint to the DMHC Help Center.
They will review all the information
provided by you and the health plan and
will issue a written determination.
Review 3 Members must exhaust the health plan
CalPERS and DMHC appeal processes before
. . they request a CalPERS review. The AR
Administrative request must be received within
Review (AR) 30 days of the DMHC denial.
Review 4 A request for a hearing must set forth
CalPERS the fact§ and the law upon which the
. . request is based. The request may
Administrative include any additional arguments and
Hearing (AH) evidence not previously submitted to
the health plan, DMHC, or CalPERS.
Review 5 If the Board accepts the reconsideration,

Reconsideration

by the Board

the Board will set a date to hear the
case. Additional information is available
inthe EOC.

or 72 hours for urgent cases.

Requests for a health plan review must be made
within 180 days of the denial of the benefit or service.

Within 7 days for urgent and within 45 days for standard appeals.

If the decision is adverse, in whole or in part, members
can request a CalPERS Administrative Review.

The CalPERS appeals team will review the information provided by
the health plan, DMHC, and the member.
CalPERS will issue a determination within 3 business days from the

date all pertinent information is received for urgent requests and
60 days for standard requests.

If the decision is adverse, in whole or in part, members may request
a CalPERS Administrative Hearing.

A hearing is set before an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ).
The member or their representative presents their case.

The ALJ prepares a proposed decision within 30 days

of the hearing.

The CalPERS Board of Administration (Board) either adopts
or rejects the proposed decision at its public meeting.

If the member does not agree with the Board's decision, they may
request reconsideration by the Board

= N/A
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PPO Appeal Process Appeal Process Insurance. This process applies to Basic

Preferred Provider Organization (PPO) plans are self- plan medical and prescription drug appeals based on
funded by CalPERS and regulated under the Public
Employees’ Medical and Hospital Care Act. PPO appeals

are not reviewed by the DMHC or the Department of PPO

medical necessity or benefit. The only difference is that
benefit denials are not eligible for an Independent

External Review.

Review Level

Process

Timeline

Review 1
Health Plan Review

Review 2
Independent External
Review (IRO)

Review 3
CalPERS
Administrative
Review (AR)

Review 4
CalPERS
Administrative
Hearing (AH)

Review 5
Reconsideration
by the Board

| Health Program Guide

If the service or benefit has already been provided
(post-service), the health plan will issue a written
decision within 60 days of the appeal request.

If the service or benefit has not yet been provided
(pre-service), the health plan will issue a written
decision within 72 hours if the case is urgent or
30 days for standard appeals.

An external IRO is responsible for reviewing an
appeal that has been denied, in whole or in part, by
the health plan to determine if an independent
medical reviewer agrees with the decision of the
health plan. The IRO is independent of the health
plan and its decision is binding on the health plan.

The IRO will review all the information provided by
the health plan and the patient in rendering a
determination.

Members must exhaust the health plan and IRO
appeal processes before they request a CalPERS
review. The request must be received within

30 days of the health plan or IRO denial.

A request for a hearing must set forth the facts
and the law upon which the request is based.

The request may include any additional
arguments and evidence not previously submitted
to the health plan, IRO, or CalPERS.

|f the Board accepts the reconsideration, the
Board will set a date to hear the case.

Additional information is available in the EOC.

For appeals with the pharmacy benefit manager, a
decision is rendered within 24 hours for urgent cases
and 72 hours for standard cases.

If the decision is adverse, in whole or in part, members
have the next level of review available.

In general, the IRO issues a written determination within
72 hours for urgent appeals and within 45 days for
standard appeals.

IRO decisions are binding on the health plan, meaning
that if the IRO overturns the health plan’'s denial, the
plan must provide the requested service, even if the
health plan disagrees. If the decision is adverse for the
member, in whole or in part, they have the next level of
review available.

The CalPERS appeals team will review the information
provided by the health plan, IRO, and the member.
CalPERS will issue a written determination within

3 business days from the date all pertinent information
is received for urgent requests and

60 days for standard requests.

If the decision is adverse, in whole or in part, members
may request a CalPERS Administrative Hearing.

A hearing is set before an ALJ. The member or their
representative presents their case. The ALJ prepares a
proposed decision within 30 days of the hearing.

The Board either adopts or rejects the proposed
decision at its public meeting. If the member does not
agree with the Board's decision, they may request
reconsideration by the Board.

* N/A

Members may not begin civil legal remedies until after exhausting the administrative procedures.



Medicare Appeal Process

The U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
(CMS) oversees and regulates Medicare grievances and
appeals. Information about the Medicare appeal process is
explained at www.medicare.gov/claims-appeals/
how-do-i-file-an-appeal.

CalPERS Medicare Supplemental plans offer Benefits
Beyond Medicare. Denials for Benefits Beyond Medicare
can be pursued through the CalPERS preferred provider
organization (PPO) Appeal Process.

Binding Arbitration

Binding arbitration is a method used by some health
plans to resolve conflicts. It requires you to agree in
advance that any claims or disagreements will be settled
through a neutral, legally binding resolution, replacing court
or jury trials. In some instances, you can choose to appeal
to CalPERS rather than go through binding arbitration. If
your plan requires binding arbitration, the process will be
described in your plan’'s Evidence of Coverage booklet,

which you can obtain from your health plan.

The California Patient's Guide

The California Patient’s Guide: Your Health Care Rights
and Remedies informs you of your rights to receive
quality health care and what steps you can take if you
encounter problems. The full text of the guide is available
at www.calpatientguide.org, or you can request a copy
by calling the DMHC HMO Consumer Help Center at
(888) 466-2219.

CalPERS Notice of

Agreement for Arbitration

Enrolling in certain health benefit plans
constitutes your agreement that any dispute(s)
you have with the plan, including medical
malpractice, that is, whether any medical services
rendered under this contract were unnecessary or
unauthorized or were improperly, negligently, or
incompetently rendered, as well as any dispute(s)
relating to the delivery of service under the plan
will be determined by submission to arbitration as
provided by California law, and not by a lawsuit or
resort to court process except as California law
provides for judicial review of arbitration
proceedings. By enrolling in one of these plans,
you are giving up your constitutional right to have
any such dispute decided in a court of law before a
jury, and instead are accepting the use of
arbitration. Please refer to the health plan’s
Evidence of Coverage for details.

Health Program Guide
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Your Rights & Privacy

Patient Bill of Rights

As a member of the CalPERS Health Program, you have
important rights. These rights protect your privacy, your
access to quality health care, and your right to participate

fully in medical decisions affecting you and your family.

How and where to get help

If you have a concern about your rights and health care
services, we urge you to first discuss it with your physician,
hospital, or other provider, as appropriate. Many complaints can
be resolved at this level because your health plan wants
satisfied customers. If you still have concerns, you may have the
right to appeal the health plan’s decision directly to CalPERS or,
in many health plans, through the grievance procedure. Consult
your Evidence of Coverage booklet for information on the
benefits covered or your appeal rights. You can contact CalPERS
at 888 CalPERS (or 888-225-7377) for further information.

As a patient and a CalPERS member,
you have the right to:

Be treated with courtesy and respect

Receive health care without discrimination

Have confidential communication about your health

Have your medical record or information about your

health disclosed only with your written permission

Access and copy your medical record

Have no restrictions placed on your doctor’s ability
to inform you about your health status and all

treatment options

Be given sufficient information to make an informed
decision about any medical treatment or procedure,

including its risks and benefits

Refuse any treatment

Designate a surrogate to make your health care

decisions if you are incapacitated

Access quality medical care, including specialist and
urgent care services, when medically necessary and

covered by your health plan

Access emergency services when you, as a “prudent

layperson,” could expect the absence of immediate
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medical attention would result in serious jeopardy
to you

Participate in an independent, external medical
review when covered health care services are
denied, delayed, or limited on the basis that the
service was not medically necessary or appropriate,
after the health plan’s internal grievance process has
been exhausted

Discuss the costs of your care in advance with

your provider

Get a detailed, written explanation if payment

or services are denied or reduced

Have your complaints resolved in a fair and timely

manner and have them expedited when a medical condition

requires treatment

You can help protect your rights by doing

the following:

Express your health care needs clearly

Build mutual trust and cooperation with your
providers

Give relevant information to your health care
provider about your health history, condition, and all
medications you use

Contact your providers promptly when health
problems occur

Ask questions if you don't understand a medical
condition or treatment

Be on time for appointments

Notify providers in advance if you can't keep your
health care appointment

Adopt a healthy lifestyle and use preventive
medicine, including appropriate screenings and
immunizations

Familiarize yourself with your health benefits and
any exclusions, deductibles, copayments, and
treatment costs

Understand that cost controls, when reasonable,

help keep good health care affordable



CalPERS Notice of Privacy Practices

Effective Date: June 12, 2023

This notice describes how medical information about you
may be used and disclosed and how you can get access to
this information. Please review it carefully.

If you have any questions about this notice, please write
to the HIPAA Unit at P.O. Box 942715, Sacramento, CA
94229-2715 or call CalPERS at 888-CalPERS
(or 888-225-7377).

Why We Ask for Information About You

The Information Practices Act of 1977 and the Federal
Privacy Act require CalPERS to provide certain information to
individuals who are asked to supply information. The
information requested is collected pursuant to Government
Code (Section 20000, et seq.) and is used by the CalPERS
Board of Administration to administer its duties under the
Public Employees’ Retirement Law (PERL), the Social Security
Act (SSA), and the Public Employees’ Medical and Hospital
Care Act (PEMHCA), as the case may be. Submission of the
requested information is mandatory. Failure to supply the
information may result in CalPERS being unable to perform its
functions regarding your status. Portions of this information
may be transferred to other governmental agencies (such as

your employen), physicians, and insurance carriers but only in

strict compliance with current statutes regarding confidentiality.

Please do not include information that is not requested.

You have the right to review your CalPERS membership
file. For questions concerning your rights under the
Information Practices Act (IPA) of 1977, please contact the
HIPAA Unit at P.O. Box 942715, Sacramento, CA 94229-2715.

How We Use Your Social Security Number (SSN)
Section 7(b) of the Privacy Act of 1974 (Public Law
93-579) requires any federal, state, or local governmental
agency, requesting an individual disclose their SSN, inform
the individual whether the disclosure is mandatory or
voluntary; by which statutory or other authority the number

is solicited; and what uses will be made of the number.

Section 111 of Public Law 110-173 requires group health
plans to collect and provide member SSNs for the
coordination of federal and state benefits. Furthermore, the
CalPERS health program requires each enrollee’s SSN for
identification and verification purposes.

The CalPERS health program uses SSNs for the
following purposes:

* Enrollee identification for eligibility processing
and verification

* Payroll deduction and state contribution for
state employees

* Billing of public agencies for employee and employer
contributions

* Reports to CalPERS and other state agencies

* Coordination of benefits among health plans

* Resolution of member complaints, grievances,
and appeals with health plans, and

* Uses and disclosures required by the federal
Affordable Care Act (ACA), such as reports to

employees and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).

How We Safeguard Your Protected
Health Information (PHI)

We understand that PHI about you is personal and CalPERS
is committed to safeguarding the PHI in our possession. This
notice applies to your PHI under CalPERS Health and Long-
Term Care programs. The particular group health or long-term
care plan in which you are enrolled may have different policies
or notices regarding its use and disclosure of your PHI.

The remainder of this notice will tell you about the ways
in which we may use and disclose PHI about you. It also
describes your rights and our obligations regarding the use
and disclosure of PHI.

PHI is any information created or received by a health care
provider or health plan or long-term care plan that relates to
your past, present, or future physical or mental health or
condition, the provision of health care to you, or the past,
present or future payment for your health care. However,

such information is only PHI if the information identifies you
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or contains information that can reasonably be used to identify
you. Such information is PHI during your lifetime and remains
PHI for a period of 50 years after your death.
The Federal HIPAA Privacy Regulations (Title 45, Code of

Federal Regulations, sections 164.500, et seq.) require us to:

* Make sure PHI that identifies you is kept private

* Provide you with certain rights with respect to your PHI

* Give you this notice of our legal duties and privacy

practices with respect to your PHI; and

* Follow the terms of the notice that is currently in effect

How We May Use And Disclose Your PHI

The following categories describe different ways CalPERS may
use and disclose your PHI. For each category of uses or
disclosures, we will explain what we mean and give some
examples. Not every use or disclosure in a category will be listed.
All of the ways we are permitted to use and disclose information
under HIPAA, however, will fall within one of the categories.

* For Payment. We may use or disclose your PHI for
payment purposes, such as to determine your eligibility
for benefits; to facilitate payment for the treatment and
services you receive from health care providers; to
determine the amount of your benefits; or to coordinate
payment of benefits with other health or long-term care
coverage you may have.

* For Health Care Operations. \We may use and disclose
PHI about you to operate CalPERS Health and Long-
Term Care programs. The use and disclosure of PHI is
necessary to run these programs and make sure that all
of our enrollees receive quality care. For example, we
may use and disclose PHI about you to confirm your
eligibility and to enroll you in the health or long term
care plan that you select; to evaluate the performance
of the health or long term care plans in which you are
enrolled; or to resolve a complaint, grievance, or appeal
with the health plan or long term care program. We
may also combine PHI about many CalPERS Health and
Long-Term Care benefit enrollees to assist in rate
setting or underwriting; to evaluate plan or program
performance; to measure quality of care provided; or
for similar health care operations.

* For Treatment. We may use or disclose PHI to a health
care provider to facilitate medical treatment or
services. For example, if your health care provider

refers you to a specialist for treatment, we may disclose
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your PHI to the specialist to whom you have been
referred, so the specialist can become familiar with
your medical condition, prior diagnoses, treatment,
or prognoses. It is more likely, though, that a health
care provider would receive your PHI for treatment
purposes from another health care provider rather
than from us.

In some cases, we may obtain PHI about you from
a participating health plan, provider, or third-party
administrator for certain health care operations. If
the PHI received is from others as part of our health
care operations, the uses and disclosures are in
compliance with these guidelines. We will, however,
never use or disclose your genetic information for
underwriting purposes.
To Business Associates. \We may contract with third
parties, known as Business Associates, to perform
various functions or provide certain services on our
behalf. Subcontractors of these third parties may also
be our Business Associates in certain cases. For
example, the entities who serve as third-party
administrators for CalPERS Health or Long-Term Care
programs are Business Associates. In order to perform
these functions or provide these services, Business
Associates may receive, create, maintain, use, and/or
disclose your PHI for plan administration and other
permitted purposes, after contractually agreeing to
implement appropriate safeguards regarding your PHI.
In addition, our Business Associates are required by
law to protect PHI and comply with most of the same
HIPAA standards that we do.
To the Plan Sponsor. We will disclose your PHI to
certain CalPERS employees for the purpose of
administering health and long-term care plans.
Those authorized employees, however, will only use
or disclose your PHI as necessary to perform plan
administration functions, or other functions required
by HIPAA, unless you have authorized further use
and disclosures. Your PHI cannot be used for
employment purposes without your specific written
authorization.
Incidental Uses and Disclosures. There are certain
other incidental uses and disclosures that may result
from or in connection with an otherwise permitted

use or disclosure, such as a use or disclosure related



to providing services or conducting business. We use
all reasonable efforts, however, to limit these uses and
disclosures.

* For Health-Related Benefits and Services. We may use
and disclose your PHI to tell you about health-related
benefits or services, such as treatment alternatives,
disease management, or wellness programs that may be
of interest to you.

* As Required by Law. We will disclose PHI about you
when required to do so by federal, state, and local law
or regulation.

* For Research. We may use and disclose your PHI for
research purposes. However, this use and disclosure requires
your prior authorization, unless authorized by an Institutional
Review Board (IRB). IRBs ensure CalPERS' research activities
involve no more than the minimal risk to the privacy of the
research subjects; involve information that is mostly
anonymous and is subject to a data use agreement; or are
solely used to prepare a research protocol.

* To Avert a Serious Threat to Health or Safety. We may
use and disclose PHI about you when necessary to
prevent a serious threat to your health and safety or the
health and safety of the public or another person. Any
disclosure, however, would only be to someone able to
help prevent the threat.

* Minimum Necessary Standard. To the extent possible,
when using or disclosing your PHI, or when requesting
your PHI from another organization subject to HIPAA, we
will not use, disclose, or request more than the minimum
amount of your PHI necessary to accomplish the intended
purpose of the use, disclosure, or request, taking into
consideration practical and technological limitations.

However, the minimum necessary standard will

not apply to:

- Disclosures to or requests by a health care provider
for treatment

- Uses by you or disclosures to you of your own PHI

- Disclosures made to the Secretary of the U.S.
Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)

- Uses or disclosures that may be required by law

— Uses or disclosures that are required to comply with
legal regulations, and

- Uses and disclosures for which we have obtained your

authorization

Special Situations

* Workers' Compensation. We may release PHI about
you for workers' compensation or similar programs, as
authorized by law. These programs provide benefits
for work-related injuries or illnesses.

* Coroners, Medical Examiners and Funeral Directors.
We may release PHI to a coroner or medical examiner.
This may be necessary, for example, to identify a
deceased person or to determine the cause of death.
We may also release medical information about you to
funeral directors as necessary to carry out their duties.

* Military. If you are a member of the armed forces, we
may disclose PHI about you as required by military
command authorities.

* Health Oversight Activities. We may disclose PHI to
a health oversight agency for oversight activities
authorized by law. These oversight activities include,
for example, audits, investigations, inspections, and
licensure proceedings. These activities are necessary
for the government to monitor the health care system,
government programs, and compliance with civil

rights laws.

* Public Health Activities. We may disclose PHI to

public health or government authorities for public
health activities authorized by law. These include, for
example, health investigations, health surveillance,

and reporting of abuse, neglect, or domestic violence.

* Lawsuits and Disputes. If you are involved in a lawsuit

or a dispute, we may disclose PHI about you in
response to a court or administrative order. We may
also disclose PHI about you in response to a subpoena,
discovery request, or other lawful process by someone
involved in the dispute, but only if you have been given

proper notice and an opportunity to object.

* Law Enforcement. We may release your PHI if asked to

do so by a law enforcement official in response to a court

order, subpoena, warrant, summons, or similar process.

* National Security and Intelligence Activities. We may

release PHI about you to authorized federal officials
for intelligence, counterintelligence, and other national

security activities authorized by law.

* Protective Services for the President and Others. We

may disclose PHI about you to authorized federal or state
officials, so they may provide protection to the President,

other authorized persons, or foreign heads of state.
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* Privacy Rule Investigations. \WWe may disclose PHI to the
Secretary of HHS as required to cooperate with a review
of our compliance with the HIPAA Privacy Rule.

* Inmates. If you are an inmate of a correctional
institution or under the custody of a law enforcement
official, we may release PHI about you to the
correctional institution or law enforcement official.
This release would be necessary for the institution to
provide you with health care; to protect your health
and safety or the health and safety of others; or for the
safety and security of the correctional institution.

* Disaster Relief Purposes. In the event of a disaster, PHI
may be disclosed to a public or private entity, authorized
by law or by its charter to assist in disaster relief efforts.
This information may be used to assist in notifying a
family member, personal representative, or another
person responsible for the member's care of a

member’s location, condition, or death.

Disclosures to Personal Representatives and

Family Members
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* Personal Representatives. We will disclose your PHI
to individuals who are your personal representatives
under state law. For example, in most situations, we
will disclose PHI of minor children to the parents of
such children. We will also disclose your PHI to other
persons authorized by you in writing to receive your
PHI, such as your representative under a medical
power of attorney, so long as we are provided with a
written authorization and any supporting
documentation (i.e. power of attorney).

Under the HIPAA privacy rule, we do not have to

disclose information to a personal representative if we have

a reasonable belief that:

- You have been, or may be, subjected to domestic
violence, abuse or neglect by such person

— Treating such person as your personal
representative could endanger you, or

- In the exercise of our professional judgment, it is
not in your best interest to treat the person as your
personal representative.

* Family Members. Unless otherwise allowed by HIPAA,
we will not orally disclose your PHI to your spouse,
domestic partner, or parent (if you are an adult child),

unless you have agreed to such disclosure. With limited

Health Program Guide

exceptions, however, we will send all mail to the

named insured. This includes mail relating to the

named insured's family members, including
information on the use of benefits and denial of
benefits to the named insured'’s family members. If
you have requested restrictions on the use and
disclosure of your PHI, and we have agreed to the
request, we will send mail as provided by the request.

See the “Your Right to Request Restrictions” bullet

under the “Your Rights Regarding Your PHI" section

for more details.

- Upon your death, we may disclose your PHI to a
family member, other relative, or close friend
involved in your health care or payment of your
health care, prior to your death. This is done to the
extent that the PHI is relevant to such person'’s
involvement and such disclosure is not inconsistent

with your prior expressed preference known to us.

Rights Regarding Your PHI
You have the following rights regarding the PHI we

maintain about you:

* Right to Inspect and Copy. You have the right to
inspect and copy PHI about you that is maintained
by CalPERS Health and Long-Term Care programs.

To inspect and copy your PHI, maintained by
CalPERS Health or Long-Term Care programs, you
must submit your request in writing to the HIPAA
Unit at P. O. Box 942715, Sacramento, CA 94229-
2715. If you request a copy of the information, we
may charge a fee for the costs of copying, mailing, or
other supplies associated with your request.

If the information you request is maintained
electronically, and you request an electronic copy,
we will provide a copy in the electronic format you
request, if the information can be readily produced
in that format. If the information cannot be readily
produced in that electronic format, we will work
with you to come to an agreement on another
suitable format. If we cannot agree on an electronic
format, we will provide you with a paper copy.

We may deny your request to inspect and copy
your PHI in limited circumstances. If you are denied
access to your PHI, you may request that the denial

be reviewed. To request a review, you must submit



your request in writing to the HIPAA Unit at P.O. Box

942715, Sacramento, CA 94229-2714. The person

conducting the review will not be the person who

denied your request. We will comply with the
outcome of the review.

Right to Amend. If you feel the PHI we have about

you is incorrect or incomplete, you may ask us to

amend the information. You have the right to
request an amendment for as long as the
information is kept by or for CalPERS health or long-
term care programs.

To request an amendment, you must submit your
request in writing to the HIPAA Unit at P. O. Box
942715, Sacramento, CA 94229-2715. In addition, you
must provide a reason that supports your request.

We may deny your request for an amendment if it
is not in writing or does not include a reason to
support the request. In addition, we may deny your
request if you ask us to amend information that:

- Was not created by us, unless the person or
entity that created the information is no longer
available to make the amendment

- Is not part of the PHI kept by or for CalPERS

- Is not part of the information which you would be
permitted to inspect and copy, or

- Is accurate and complete.

If we deny your request for amendment, you can
request a copy of our review and you have the right
to submit a written addendum, not to exceed 250
words, with respect to the item in your record you
believe is incomplete or incorrect. If your written
addendum clearly indicates that you want the
document to be made part of your health record, we
will attach it to your records and include it with any
disclosure of the item in question.

Right to an Accounting of Disclosures. You have the

right to request an “accounting of disclosures.” This

is a list of certain disclosures we made regarding
your PHI. The accounting will not include disclosures
made for purposes of treatment, payment, or health
care operations, disclosures made to you,
disclosures made pursuant to a written
authorization from you, disclosures made to friends
or family in your presence or because of an

emergency, disclosures made for national security

purposes, and disclosures deemed incidental or
otherwise permissible.

To request an accounting of disclosures, you must
submit your request in writing to the HIPAA Unit at
P.O. Box 942715, Sacramento, CA 94229-2715.

Your request must:

— State a time period, which may not be longer than
six years prior to the date of the request.
- Indicate in what form you want the accounting

(paper or electronic).

The first accounting of disclosures you request,
within a 12-month period, will be free. For additional
accountings within a 12-month period, we may
charge you for the costs of providing it. We will
notify you of the costs involved and you may choose
to withdraw or modify your request at that time
before any costs are incurred.

Right to Request Restrictions. You have the right to
request a restriction or limitation on the PHI we use
or disclose about you for treatment, payment, or
health care operations. You also have the right to
request a limit on the PHI we disclose about you to
someone who is involved in your care or the payment
for your care, like a family member or friend. For
example, you could ask that we not use or disclose
information about a surgery you had.

We are not required to agree to your request except
in limited circumstances. We will agree to your
request if the PHI pertains solely to a health care item
or service for which the health care provider has been
paid out of pocket in full. In other instances, we may
not agree to your request. If we do agree, we will
comply with your request unless the information is
needed to provide you with emergency treatment.

To request restrictions, you must submit your
request in writing to the HIPAA Unit at P.O. Box
942715, Sacramento, CA 94229-2715. In your
request, you must tell us the following:

— What information you want to limit,
— Whether you want to limit our use, disclosure,

or both, and
— To whom you want the limits to apply.

Right to Request Alternative Communications. You
have the right to request that we communicate with

you about your PHI by alternative means and/or to
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alternative locations, if you believe that our normal
method or your location of communication could
endanger you. For example, you can ask that we only
contact you at work or by mail to a specific address.

To request alternative communications, you must
submit your request in writing to the HIPAA Unit at
P.O. Box 942715, Sacramento, CA 94229-2715. Your
request must specify how or where you wish to be
contacted. We will not ask you to provide the reason
for your request, but your request must include a
statement explaining how our normal method or
your location of communication could endanger you.
We will accommodate all reasonable requests for
alternative communications that include this
required statement.

* Breach Notification. If and when required by HIPAA,
we will notify you of a breach of the HIPAA privacy
rules involving your PHI. If HIPAA requires us to
send you a notice, the notice will contain:

— A description of the breach

- The type of PHI that was breached

- What steps you could take to protect yourself
from potential harm

- What steps we are taking to investigate the breach,
mitigate harm and protect from further breaches,
and

- Who to contact for additional information.

* Right to a Paper Copy of This Notice. You have the
right to a paper copy of this notice. You may ask us
to give you a copy of this notice at any time. Even if
you have agreed to receive this notice electronically,
you are still entitled to a paper copy of this notice.

To obtain a paper copy, contact the HIPAA Unit at
P.O. Box 942715, Sacramento, CA 94229-2715 or
visit our website at www.calpers.ca.gov to print out
a copy. Search “Notice of Privacy Practices” to easily

access the notice on our website.

Changes to this Notice
We reserve the right to change this notice at any time.
We reserve the right to make the revised or changed notice

effective for PHI we already maintain about you, as well as
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any information we receive in the future. We will post a
copy of the current notice on the CalPERS website at
www.calpers.ca.gov. The notice will contain the effective
date at the top of the first page. In addition, a copy of the
current notice will be included in the annual CalPERS open

enrollment mailing.

Complaints

If you believe your privacy rights have been violated, you
may file a complaint with CalPERS or with the Secretary of
HHS by going to the www.hhs.gov website. To file a
complaint with CalPERS, contact the HIPAA Unit at P.O.
Box 942715, Sacramento, CA 94229-2715. All complaints
must be submitted in writing.

You will not be retaliated against for filing a complaint.

Other Uses of PHI

Other uses and disclosures of PHI not covered by this
notice will be made only with your written permission or
authorization. If you provide us permission to use or
disclose PHI about you, you may revoke that permission at
any time. You may submit your request in writing to the
HIPAA Unit at P.O. Box 942715, Sacramento, CA 94229-
2715. If you revoke your permission, we will no longer use
or disclose PHI about you for the reasons covered by your
written authorization. However, please understand that we
are unable to take back any disclosures we have already
made with your permission, and that we are required to
retain our records of your participation in CalPERS Health

and Long-Term Care programs.

Note: CalPERS does not discriminate on the basis of age, ancestry,
citizenship, color, denial of Family Medical Care Leave, disability,
domestic violence victim status, gender, gender identity/
expression, genetic information, marital status, medical condition,
military/veteran status, national origin, political affiliation, race,
religion, religious creed, requests for leave under the California
Family Rights Act, sex (including pregnancy, childbirth, and
breastfeeding or medical conditions relating to pregnancy,
childbirth, and breastfeeding), sexual orientation, or any other

classification protected by federal, state or local laws or ordinances.


https://www.calpers.ca.gov
https://www.calpers.ca.gov
https://www.hhs.gov

Definition of Terms

Affordable Care Act (ACA)

The Affordable Care Act (ACA) requires most Americans
to have qualifying health insurance called "minimum essential
coverage." Under the ACA's individual shared responsibility
provision (also known as the "individual mandate"), most

Americans must maintain minimum essential coverage.

Annuitant

A person who has retired within 120 days of separation
from employment and who receives a retirement allowance
from the retirement system provided by the employer, or a
surviving family member who receives the retirement
allowance in place of the deceased, or a survivor of a
deceased employee entitled to special death benefits and
survivor allowance under Section 21541, 21546, 21547, or
21547.7 of the Public Employees’ Retirement Law, or similar
provisions of any other state retirement system. Additional
definitions of an annuitant are contained in Government
Code 22760.

CalPERS Basic Health Plan

A CalPERS Basic health plan provides health benefits
coverage to members who are under age 65 or who are
over age 65 and still working. Members who are 65 years
of age or older and not eligible for Medicare Part A may

also be eligible to enroll in a Basic health plan.

CalPERS Medicare Health Plan

A CalPERS Medicare health plan provides health benefits
coverage to members who are over age 65, retired, and are
enrolled in Medicare Parts A and B with the Social Security
Administration (SSA).

For active employees and their dependents of any age,
federal law limits enrollment in a CalPERS Medicare health
plan to those diagnosed with Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
(ALS) or End-Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) who have

completed any applicable coordination periods with SSA.

The Consolidated Omnibus Budget
Reconciliation Act (COBRA)

The Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act
(COBRA) of 1986 provides for continuation of group health
coverage that otherwise might be terminated. COBRA
provides certain former employees, retirees, spouses,
former spouses, and dependent children the right to
temporary continuation of health coverage at group rates.
This coverage is only available when coverage is lost due

to certain events.

Coinsurance
The amount you may be required to pay for service after

you pay the deductible.

Combination Plan

A combination plan means at least one family member is
enrolled in a Medicare health plan and at least one family
member is enrolled in a Basic health plan through the same
health carrier. CalPERS requires all family members to have

the same health carrier.

Contracting Agency
A Public Agency that contracts with CalPERS for

retirement benefits, health benefits, or both.

Copay
The amount you pay for a doctor visit or for receiving

a covered service or prescription.

Deductible
The amount you must pay for health care before the
health plan starts to pay.

Dependent

A family member who meets the specific eligibility
criteria for coverage in the CalPERS Health Program.
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Dependent Eligibility Verification

Dependent Eligibility Verification (DEV) is the process of
re-verifying the eligibility of your spouse, domestic partner,
children, stepchildren, and domestic partner children
(dependents) enrolled in health and/or dental benefits. To
ensure only eligible dependents are enrolled in employer-
sponsored health benefits, Government Code section
19815.9 and California Code of Regulations section 599.855
mandates that you re-verify the eligibility of your
dependents. Government Code section 22959 authorizes

the review of your dependents’ dental benefits enrollment.

Employer Contribution
The amount your current or former employer contributes

towards the cost of your health premium.

Emergency Services
Medical services to treat an injury or illness that could

result in serious harm if you don't get care right away.

Exclusive Provider Organization (EPO)

A plan that offers the same covered services as an HMO
plan, but you must seek services from the plan's network of
preferred providers. You are also able to access physicians and

specialists that participate in the network without a referral.

Health Insurance Portability & Accountability Act
(HIPAA)

This federal law protects health insurance coverage for
workers and their families when they change or lose their
jobs. It also includes provisions for national standards

to protect the privacy of personal health information.

Health Maintenance Organization (HMO)
A plan provides health care from specific doctors and

hospitals under contract with the plan.
Non-Participating Provider

Non-preferred providers that have not contracted with
the health plan.
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Out-of-Pocket Costs

Generally refers to the actual costs individuals pay
to receive health care. These costs are the total of the
premium (minus any employer contribution) plus any

additional costs such as copayments and deductibles.

Open Enrollment Period

A specific period of time, as determined by the CalPERS
Board of Administration, when you can enroll in or change
health plans or add eligible family members who are not

currently enrolled in the CalPERS Health Program.

Public Employees’ Medical and Hospital Care Act
(PEMHCA)

A state law that requires participating contracting agency
employers to offer all eligible active and retired employees
an opportunity to enroll in a CalPERS health plan of their
choice. PEMHCA also requires employers to contribute
toward the cost of their active and retired members' health

care premiums.

Preferred Provider
This is a provider that participates in a preferred provider

network. You will pay less to visit a preferred provider.

Preferred Provider Organization (PPO)
A plan that is similar to a traditional "fee-for-service"
plan, but you must use doctors in the PPO provider network

or pay higher co-insurance (percentage of charges).

Premium
The monthly amount a health plan charges to provide

health benefits coverage.

Primary Care Provider (PCP)

The doctor who works with you and other doctors to
provide, prescribe, approve, and coordinate all your medical
care and treatment (also referred to by some health plans

as "Personal Physician”).



Public Agency
Any city, county, district, other local authority, or public

body of or within California.

Retiree

A person who has retired within 120 days of separation
from employment with the state or a contracting agency
and who receives a retirement allowance from the

retirement system provided by the employer.

Retirement Date
The date you select on your application to retire
with CalPERS.

Separation Date
The last day you were considered an employee in

your organization.

Service Area

The geographic area in which your health plan provides
coverage. You must reside or work in the health plan’s
service area to enroll in and remain enrolled in a plan. For
some plans, the Medicare service area may not be identical

to the Basic service area.

Specialist
A doctor who has special training in a specific kind of
medical care, for example, cardiology (heart), neurology

(nervous system), or oncology (cancer).

State Agency
A state office, officer, department, division, bureau,

board, or commission, or any other state body or agency.

Survivor
A family member defined by law as eligible to receive

benefits upon the member's death.

Urgently Needed Services

A non-emergency situation when you need to see a
doctor, but are away from your health plan’s service area.
See your health plan’'s Evidence of Coverage booklet for

more details.

Health Program Guide

43



Notes

44 | Health Program Guide



Notes

Health Program Guide | 45



About CalPERS

The CalPERS Health Benefits Program is a nationally
recognized leader in the health care industry. We put our
expertise and influence to work to help us deliver quality,
equitable, and affordable health care for our members
and employers.

CalPERS is the largest purchaser of public employee
health benefits in California, and the second largest public
purchaser in the nation after the federal government. Our
program is governed by the Public Employees’ Medical
and Hospital Care Act (PEMHCA) and provides benefits to
approximately 1.5 million public employees, retirees, and

their families.

. CalPERS

CalPERS Health Benefits Program HBD-120

Produced by CalPERS

Communications and Stakeholder Relations
Office of Public Affairs

August 2025.8.1

P.O. Box 942715
Sacramento, CA 94229-2715
888 CalPERS (or 888-225-7377)

www.calpers.ca.gov

Depending on where you reside or work, CalPERS
offers active employees and retirees health plans,
which may include:

* Health Maintenance Organization (HMO)
* Preferred Provider Organization (PPO)
* Exclusive Provider Organization (EPO)

The CalPERS Board of Administration annually
determines health plan availability, covered benefits, health
premiums, and copayments. Whether you are working or
retired, your employer or former employer makes monthly

contributions toward your health premiums.
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